The Beauty of the Blog

We have an expression in Australia,”beauty mate.” It is an exclamation that everything’s cool. Well sometimes when I write my friends yell “beauty mate,” but every now and then someone screams “what the hell are you thinking” and that’s cool too. To the latter I am not, in most cases, unless I’m quoting a study or actual medical or legal findings, claiming my writings to be anything more than my opinions or life experiences.

To my dear friends, there a few who, regularly take umbrage with my writing. It’s just that — my writing. A blog is like a restaurant or a night club. No one forces you to line up for hours at my velvet rope. You’re not drugged or have your eyelids taped open forcing you to read. If you have an intelligent comment an alternative way of looking at it, please respond, but if you got out the wrong side of bed or woke up the only one in it, start a blog of your own. Please don’t flame mine because we the disabled have our problems that’s why we’re here.

I’m compassionate. If you need to vent, message me. If you need a shoulder, let me know. If you want to see the skies through the trees then look up, get up and roll. Screaming at me might remind you you’re alive, but your problem will still be there when you’re finished.

Please stop telling me I don’t know what it’s like to be in a chair, disabled, epileptic, molested, gay, rejected by family, because guess what that wasn’t a list of examples that was what I call last month. The only crutch you’ll get from drugs is a limp one. The only friend you get from alcohol is the bar owner who’s kid you’re putting through school. The only date you’ll get from slutting around is with the doctor who cures you VD.

Love yourself first, love yourself last but just love yourself.

Leave a Reply

