New York Judge Decides NYC Taxi Industry is in Flagrant Violation of The AMericans With Disabilities Act

The Bloomberg administration must now present an extensive report to the judge that describes a plan for expanding the availability of wheelchair-accessible taxis, which make up less than 2 percent of the city’s fleet of 13,000 yellow cabs.

The requirement, issued by Judge George B. Daniels of United States District Court in Manhattan, is similar to the mandate placed on the city in a bill signed this week by Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo, who, in approving a plan to legalize street hails of livery cabs, asked for a plan for more taxis to be accessible.

The city had been planning to start selling permits in the spring for a new class of livery cabs, which can be hailed on the street in northern Manhattan and the other four boroughs.

But now, under the ruling, until the judge approves the report, the city will be able to issue permits only for livery cabs that are wheelchair accessible.

Separately, because of the bill, the city will be prohibited from auctioning more than 400 new yellow cab medallions — a significant source of revenue that is already included in next year’s budget — until the State Transportation Department, which is overseen by Mr. Cuomo, approves its accessibility plan. The city has been planning an auction of 2,000 medallions, all of which will require their owners to drive wheelchair-accessible cabs, over the next three years.

Judge Daniels’s ruling is a victory for advocates for disabled people, who filed the lawsuit and have long criticized the lack of wheelchair access in the city’s cabs. Accessible taxis, which can be more expensive to buy and maintain than regular taxis, are rarely bought by taxi owners, and wheelchair users can often be forced to wait for extended periods before an accessible cab passes.

“Meaningful access for the disabled to public transportation services is not a utopian goal or political promise,” the judge wrote. “It is a basic civil right.”

In a statement, the city said that it was disappointed by the ruling and that its lawyers might seek a stay on the decision until they could appeal. The city also noted that it had pledged that 20 percent of the new livery cabs would be wheelchair-accessible.

The advocates’ lawsuit, filed this year, was supported by the United States attorney’s office in Manhattan, which dispatched its own lawyers for oral arguments in front of Judge Daniels.

Only You Can Change the Song of Your Life

Depression, mental Illness and a myriad of other diagnosis can rewrite the song of your life.

In 1994 My spouse ran with my children, my rights were terminated, and  the song of my life the very  story I lived by changed from the joker, the lover and  the good time girl to the song below Iris By the Goo-goo dolls the words “I don’t want the world to see me I don’t think they will understand me” became my mantra. Back then  If IPod was invented then I would have looped the song on shuffle because my heart and soul beat to the message.

I was and didn’t know  it or perhaps more to the point couldn’t accept it severely depressed. I went from professional stand-up comic and entertainer, to a drug addicted alcoholic not cool to be around angry violent bitch, and as my therapist said after, I went through ten years of the most arduously attempted and  ongoing suicide attempt, but also the most unsuccessful in history … thank Buddha. If the music was dark and  the people were different and the drinks strong I was the queen of it. One day in 1997 I  met someone who knew me before my children left  and she shocked me to the point  of waking up, and I started the road to sobriety. Today I’m 14 years clean this coming April 22nd,  and I only drink socially with a meal and I am again alive. The scars have healed on the outside, the ones on the inside are taking longer. When I took the lid off and replaced love with drugs the demons of my childhood molestation ran free, and I never could get them back in the box.  Thanks to the angels in my life, the strong powerful loving women who take no prisoners, and more importantly no bullshit, I am one day at a time rewriting my song. Let’s start a movement today, send me your song and  lets rewrite your music, Give yourself the ultimate Christmas presentand  be your own angel and send me your old song send it  here and tell me what you’ll replace it with. Below is my old song,. my new ones are   “Don’t let the sun go down on you by Elton john”  and “I was born this way” by the amazing lady Gaga. As I sit here  writing this, my Christmas present of a iPod Nano is playing don’t let the sun go down on me  in my head and  in the back ground  the love of my life is reminding me I have to put dinner on, and somewhere the other side of the world two beautiful children  are going to bed at the end of their christmas day  and whether they know or not I love them, but I have to love myself first so if they don’t return it, well I think about it like a gift you give not expecting anything in return but the joy of giving. I love you Adam and Emma but I won’t let  the sun go down on me if you don’t return it because I was born this way,  A proud out lesbian woman who knows love and  gives love and always fights for those who have been told they don’t have the right to know it. Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukah, my gift to all is that you may all stand in the light of your own truth and know the love one gets from it. Blessed be

Iris by the Goo Goo Dolls

And I’d give up forever to touch you

‘Cause I know that you feel me somehow

You’re the closest to heaven that I’ll ever be

And I don’t want to go home right now

 And all I can taste is this moment

And all I can breathe is your life

And sooner or later it’s over

I just don’t want to miss you tonight

 And I don’t want the world to see me

‘Cause I don’t think that they’d understand

When everything’s made to be broken

I just want you to know who I am

 And you can’t fight the tears that ain’t coming

Or the moment of truth in your lies

When everything feels like the movies

Yeah, you bleed just to know you’re alive

 And I don’t want the world to see me

‘Cause I don’t think that they’d understand

When everything’s made to be broken

I just want you to know who I am

 And I don’t want the world to see me

‘Cause I don’t think that they’d understand

When everything’s made to be broken

I just want you to know who I am

 And I don’t want the world to see me

‘Cause I don’t think that they’d understand

When everything’s made to be broken

I just want you to know who I am

 I just want you to know who I am

I just want you to know who I am

I just want you to know who I am