Hey Australian Disability Support pension If there’s not One rule for everyone It doesn’t work for Everyone!

Don’t get me wrong with 6 different life log Disabilities Including being in a wheelchair for life I’m Glad to be receiving A benefit because continuing  work as a chef or security expert  is out of the question for me.

But Here’s the problem, the Australian Government continues to pay  pension benefits to the seriously permanently disabled(that’s me) even if they live overseas, That’s not the bad part the bad part is they rate what they pay you on statistics, for instance housing is based on the average rent in Australia, medical is based on the average cost in Australia.  Rent on a small flat in Australia can be as low as under 200 dollars a week, in New York that won’t buy you a bedroom in someone else’s house. Our rent on a small 1 bedroom wheelchair accessible apartment in a suburb so far from Manhattan New Jersey is closer is 24,000 Australian dollars a year and it was a dump. In Australia as a pensioner going to the doctor is maybe 20 dollars co pay and 5-10 dollars per prescription, in New York There is no reciprocal pension benefits so I have to purchase insurance at $1,000 a month then $ 50 each time I go see a doctor a Mri was $2,000, a Blood test is $250 and seeing a therapist is $160 a visit . The office of international pensions claims ”well they pay a benefit sufficient according to statistics for a pensioner to maintain quality of life”.

If the Australian government is going to allow payment over seas they should also give us rental allowance as they do In Australia, no such allowance is paid to international recipients ,were not asking for extra, the government couldn’t afford to pay for our life here we just want what everyone else gets. I’m qualified for a full pension, when ever I get to go home I get it while I’m in the country. In closing all I’m saying is pay us what were entitled to where ever we live, if you say it’s ok to live outside the country and still receive benefits, then stick to it. When you pay me 1/3 what I receive in Australia the message becomes confused, is it ok or am I being Punished.  In Australia I receive $825 including rental allowance every 2 weeks, in New York I receive $275 for the same period. I paid tax at the Highest  bracket for over 30 years back home and never claimed any benefits after the first 10 years. Either pay us equal or nothing at all miss prime minister But Damn well make up your mind!

2 thoughts on “Hey Australian Disability Support pension If there’s not One rule for everyone It doesn’t work for Everyone!

  1. Hey Mate,

    rent assistance (RA) is capped at a really low rate here in Oz. If you were renting a house for 135 a week you can get the maximum RA of just under 60 per week. I live in the Eastern burbs of Sydney and you can’t rent a room in someone’s house for less than 170pw. If you were going to try and rent a 1 bedroom flat within say 5 miles of the Sydney business district the cheapest would be 250 per week – and that would absorb nearly your entire benefit (RA and the payment)

    I don’t know or understand why your overseas rate is lower but I do know that none of their payments are indexed against the relative cost of living in different areas. If we choose to live somewhere more expensive then we end up with virtually no money to actually live on.

    After 12 years living in the US and then recently moving home to Australia I really have to defend the welfare system here. It is far from perfect but at least there is something there for us when we need it.

    cheers

    • G’day mate fyi I’m female, secondly I lived home in oz for over 10 years on the benefit my rent was 200 i got 60 the 140 was affordable When I came over here (not my choice) I was wrongly cut off in 2000 and the mistake wasn’t discoverd until 2009 my back pay as of yet has not come through,it’s always next week , next week never comes . My point is this I’m not asking for extra rent assistance just the same any small amount helps. I was told that when I was re-instated it would be the same I got in oz As for the system being better in Australia the pension system in Australia was just judged the worst in the western world If i got the rent assistance the extra would raise my pension to 330 dollars which would at least cover my half of the rent . The system is flawed if when im graded to a certain level and they say yes ok this person is entitled to this much and this much equals 840 dollars in Australia why is equal to any less elsewhere they only have one qualification standard they just cut the benefit in half when you leave the country then take all benefits away leaving the base and they don’t recognise my marriage because my spouse isn’t australian? my marriage is legal it should be recognised. The international pension officers agree with me they wish the system was equal and they encourage us all to petition if those inside the system encourage complaint I think that speaks volume.

Leave a Reply

