One Person is Noise, Thousands is Power!

Wow who would have thought my small blog that allowed me to scream at the universe, “Why me ? Why wheels? And why doesnt the world seem to care about us?” would turn into a voice for a community being read by 400 people on four continents in just 2 days.

To those hundreds Thank You!  You have validated my belief that if in my everyday normal life I have to put up with dozens of people and situations that scream ” THE DISABLED AREN’T THE TOP OF OUR LIST,” then surely this aggravation is not just mine. It must be happening all over the world to tens of thousands of disabled and wheelchair bound people every day. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not  trying to take us from disabled to more important than everyone else. I’m simply saying that when an entire sidewalk and the disabled access to all the government buildings in an area have been in dangerous disrepair yet the council votes to finance a fireworks show and puts off public works for anther year you would have to be blind not to notice where their priorities lie.

For this blog to be a real resource and voice for our community, it can’t just be me. We need YOUR voice. Whether you are a fellow disabled person or someone who loves one and care, we want to hear from you. So this is how it works, I vent  and if you agree or disagree you can reply, even more importantly tell me who the good and the bad are, take pics and name names. You can be anonymous and I’ll  put them on my shame file.

I understand some of you live in places where you may be one of the few or even the only wheelchair or disabled person in your community and who needs life any tougher. Right?  So post anonymously if you want. If you want to send pics along with your story just reply to a post and let me know and I’ll get in touch privately. So let me tell your story and take the fall out. I look at it this way, if the person is already a thoughtless S.O.B who thinks disabled ramps are for dumpster storage and our toilets are for stock overflow, and then he thinks “hell why don’t I go on a blog and abuse the disabled,” then we as a community have already won for he shows himself to be the asshole we know he is.

So if your in Canada, the US or out in Yorkshire and in the outback of Australia, where ever you are you matter! I matter! It’s time the damn able bodied  community stop treating us as imbeciles and realized that there is something more between our shoulders than a place to pat and mew “there there you poor disabled thing.”

Lets get the conversation going!

Leave a Reply

